top of page

The mystery behind the Seven Swaras or Notes

Hey, do you like Indian classical music? Let's know more about it! Music is art concerned with combining vocal or instrumental sounds for beauty of form or emotional expression, usually according to cultural standards of rhythm, melody, and, in most western music, harmony and one of the most loved is ancient Indian music. The seven swaras or the notes in Indian Music were conceived from the sounds of nature. The seven swaras or the notes as we all know are- Sa, Re, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, Ni.

•Shadaja (Sa); the rapturous sound of the peacock when rain clouds gather in the sky

•Rishabha (Re); the bellowing of a cow when her calf is separated from her

•Gandhara (Ga); the bleating of a goat in a flock

•Madhyama (Ma); the cry of a heron

•Panchama (Pa); the sound of the Indian Kokila (nightingale) in spring

•Dhaivata (Dha); the neighing of a horse

•Nishada (Ni); the trumpeting of an elephant. An interesting thing that is noted in the swaras or the notes is Sa, Ma and Pa are sounds made by birds whereas Re, Ga, Dha, and Ni are sounds made by animals. If we get too deep into these swaras or the notes then it further has 7 divisions. All the seven swaras or the notes have their own identity and are distinguishable by nature and their characteristics, Deep down they have more treasure such as that.

Video Blog:

1,896 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Pick some words and hear them talk.

bottom of page