top of page

The Process of doing Jnana Yoga

This is the second part of "A Path of Spiritual Liberation" blog. There are four pillars of knowledge in Jnana yoga: The first is Viveka (discernment, discrimination) - a deliberate, intellectual effort to distinguish between the real and the unreal, the second is Vairagya (dispassion, detachment) - cultivating non-attachment toward worldly possessions and the ego-mind. The third is Shatsampat (six virtues) - six mental practices to stabilize the mind and emotions and the fourth is Mumukshutva (longing, yearning) - an intense and passionate desire for achieving liberation from suffering. After practicing these four pillars a practitioner is considered ready to begin the three core practices of Jnana Yoga, according to Upanishadic teachings that we will discuss later. To practice Jnana Yoga, it is very important to first practice Hatha Yoga, Karma Yoga and Bhakti Yoga as prerequisites. These yogic practices will prepare and purify the body, mind, and heart for the rigors of Jnana Yoga. Once you have attained some advancement in the other yogas, begin practicing the four pillars of knowledge, one pillar at a time. And this is where we realize that these yoga branches are connected to each other and therefore to practice Jnana yoga it is important to do other yogic practices too.

Video Blog:

Recent Posts

See All


Pick some words and hear them talk.

bottom of page